# International Conference Nuclear Theory in the Supercomputing Era – 2024 (NTSE–2024)

# Center for Exotic Nuclear Studies, Institute for Basic Science, Daejeon, Republic of Korea December 2 – 6, 2024

## Conference web site: <u>https://indico.ibs.re.kr/event/638/</u>

This is the first circular of the International Conference "Nuclear Theory in the Supercomputing Era NTSE–2024". The Conference will be held at the Convention Hall in Mirae Bldg., Pukyong National University, Busan, Republic of Korea, from December 1st through December 6th, 2024.

NTSE-2024 is the eights in a series of international conferences that was initiated with HITES-2012 and NTSE-2012. Subsequently, the series continues with the NTSE title. The conference focuses on forefront challenges in physics, namely the fundamentals of nuclear structure and reactions, the origin of the strong inter-nucleon interactions from QCD, and computational nuclear physics with leadership class computer facilities to provide forefront simulations leading to new discoveries. The NTSE-HITES conferences are aimed to bring together nuclear theorists, computer scientists and applied mathematicians. Previous NTSE-HITES conferences:

- NTSE-2023: June 4–6, 2023, Institute of Modern Physics Chinese Academy of Sciences, Lanzhou, China
- NTSE-2020: October 19–23, 2020, Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee, Roorkee, India (postponed)
- NTSE-2018: Oct. 29 Nov. 2, 2018, Inst. for Basic Science, Daejeon, Republic of Korea
- NTSE-2016: September 19–23, 2016, Pacific National University, Khabarovsk, Russia
- NTSE-2014: June 23–27, 2014, Pacific National University, Khabarovsk, Russia
- NTSE-2013: May 13–17, 2013, Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa, USA
- NTSE-2012: June 18–22, 2012, Pacific National University, Khabarovsk, Russia
- HITES-2012: June 4–7, New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

### **Organizing Committee**

Youngman Kim (Chair), Institute for Basic Science, Republic of Korea Ik Jae Shin, Institute for Basic Science, Republic of Korea Alexander Mazur, Pacific National University, Russia Andrey Shirokov (Vice Chair), Moscow State University, Russia James Vary (Vice Chair), Iowa State University, USA P. C. Srivastava, Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee, India Igor Mazur (Scientific secretary), Institute for Basic Science, Republic of Korea

### Scientific Advisory Committee

James Vary (Chair), Iowa State University, USA Leonid Blokhintsev, Moscow State University, Russia Stanley Brodsky, SLAC-Stanford, USA Mark Caprio, University of Notre Dame, USA David Dean, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA Jerry Draayer, Louisiana State University, USA Victor Efros, Russian Research Centre Kurchatov Institute, Russia Charlotte Elster, Ohio University, USA Evgeny Epelbaum, University of Bochum, Germany Christian Forssen, Chalmers University, Sweden Gaute Hagen, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Tennessee, USA Heiko Hergert, Michigan State University, Michigan, USA Morten Hjorth-Jensen, University of Oslo, Norway and Michigan State University, USA Youngman Kim, Institute for Basic Science, Republic of Korea Ruprecht Machleidt, University of Idaho, USA Pieter Maris, Iowa State University, USA Alexander Mazur, Pacific National University, Russia

Alexander Motovilov, Joint Institute for Nuclear Research, Russia Takashi Nakatsukasa, University of Tsukuba, Japan Petr Navrátil, TRIUMF, Canada Witold Nazarewicz, Michigan State University, USA Esmond Ng, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA Giuseppina Orlandini, Università di Trento, Italy Takaharu Otsuka, University of Tokyo, Japan Wayne Polyzou, University of Iowa, USA Sofia Quaglioni, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA Robert Roth, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany Kimiko Sekiguchi, Tohoku University, Japan Andrey Shirokov, Moscow State University, Russia Masha Sosonkina, Old Dominion University, USA Nadya Smirnova, CENBG, France Praveen. C. Srivastava, Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee, India Furong Xu, Peking University, China Xingbo Zhao, Institute of Modern Physics, China

#### Local Organizing Committee

Youngman Kim, Institute for Basic Science, Republic of Korea Ik Jae Shin, Institute for Basic Science, Republic of Korea Igor Mazur, Institute for Basic Science, Republic of Korea Seung-il Nam, Pukyong National University, Republic of Korea

#### **General Information**

The working language of the Conference is English.

#### **Important dates**

October 17, 2024: registration deadline for participants and accompanying persons October 17, 2024: deadline for submission of titles and abstracts of the talks

#### Registration

Please make registration at the conference web site: https://indico.ibs.re.kr/event/638/. You can submit the title and abstract of your talk while registering (or later by sending email to the NTSE-2024 email address ntse2024@ibs.re.kr).

#### **Conference fee**

There is no conference fee.

### Accommodations

There are ample of reasonable hotels near the Haeundae beach which is close to the conference venue (17 minutes from Haeundae subway station to Pukyong subway station).

#### Additional information

A detailed information about transportation and other NTSE-2024-related information can be found at the Conference web site: https://indico.ibs.re.kr/event/638/

#### Contacts

Igor Mazur, Conference Scientific Secretary Center for Exotic Nuclear Studies, Institute for Basic Science, Daejeon 34126, Republic of Korea Phone: +82-42-878-8755 E-mail: ntse2024@ibs.re.kr