Oct 13 – 16, 2020
Asia/Seoul timezone

The IBS-IFT-MultiDark Workshop is a regular event organized jointly by IFT, MultiDark, and IBS-CTPU. The purpose of this workshop is to exchange ideas, to promote collaborations, and to discuss recent developments in theoretical high energy physics. 

The workshop is oriented towards string phenomenology (Oct 13 and 15), as well as dark matter and particle physics (Oct 14 and 16), and will cover a wide range of research topics. 

Under the circumstances the event will be held online via Zoom. A link will be provided by email to the registered participants before the workshop week.  

The Institute for Basic Science (IBS), comprises 30 centers, including three experimental and theoretical ones on particle physics, cosmology, and string phenomenology:

The Institute for Theoretical Physics (IFT) UAM-CSIC is a joint research center belonging to the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC) and the Autonomous University of Madrid (UAM). It is the only Spanish center dedicated entirely to research in Theoretical Physics. The IFT members develop research in the frontiers of Elementary Particle Physics, Astroparticles, and Cosmology, in order to understand the fundamental keys of Nature and the Universe.

MultiDark (Multimessenger Approach for Dark Matter Detection), is the Spanish project for dark matter searches consisting of 11 theoretical, experimental, and astrophysics groups from 18 Spanish universities and research institutes.



  • Dark Matter phenomenology  

  • Astrophysics and Cosmology

  • Colliders and Theory 

  • Quantum Gravity and Swampland Constraints

  • String Compactifications


External Invited Speakers 

  • Andrew Cheek (UC Louvain)

  • Joe Conlon (Oxford)

  • Inaki Lara (Warsaw U)

  • Eran Palti (Ben-Gurion)

  • Jong-Chul Park (CNU)

  • Irene Valenzuela (Harvard)

  • Luca Visinelli (GRAPPA, University of Amsterdam)

Local Speakers 

  • Javier Coronado-Blazquez (IFT UAM-CSIC)

  • Pierre Corvilain (IFT)

  • Thomas Flacke (IBS-CTPU)

  • Daniele Gaggero (IFT UAM-CSIC)

  • Eduardo Gonzalo (IFT)

  • Jeong-Pyong Hong (IBS-CTPU)

  • Mohsen Karkheiran (IBS-CTPU)

  • Peter Merkx (IBS-CTPU)

  • Alessandro Mininno (IFT)

  • Valentina De Romeri (IFIC UV-CSIC)

  • Pablo Soler (IBS-CTPU) 

  • Takahiro Terada (IBS-CTPU)

  • Max Wiesner (IFT)

Previous Events



Sponsored by





Institute for Basic Science (IBS) 55, Expo-ro, Yuseong-gu, Daejeon, Korea, 34126