May 23 – 27, 2017
Asia/Seoul timezone

Performance of a silicon PIN photodiode based radon detector for low radioactivity environment

May 25, 2017, 2:30 PM


Board: 4


Mr Kyungmin Seo (CUP)


It is very important to monitor the amount of radon (Rn-222) in the underground experiments such as rare decay and dark matter experiments with ultra low background requirements. The radioactivity from the radon can be a significant background source to the experiments and need to be measured precisely. We have upgraded a radon detector with a volume of ~70 L which was used in the KIMS (Korean Invisible Matter Search) experiment by replacing with a Hamamatsu silicon PIN photodiode and a Hamamatsu pre-amplifier. The positively charged radon's daughter particles (Po-214 and Po-218 mostly) produced in the air of the detector chamber are collected by the photodiode in a negative high voltage. The energy resolutions of alpha particles emitted from the decays of the daughter particles are measured to be better than 0.6% with very clean signals to be be identified. We also have had about 3 months of data with the air sealed after closing the chamber. The half-lifetimes of Rn-222 from two daughter particles measured together with the background level of the chamber are going to be presented.

Primary author

Mr Kyungmin Seo (CUP)


Dr Chang Hyon Ha (Institute for Basic Science) Mr Chanwoo Park (Kyungpook National University) Dr Douglas Leonard (IBS Center for Underground Physics) Dr Eunju Jeon (Institute for Basic Science) Prof. Hongjoo Kim (Kyungpook National University) HyangKyu Park (ibs) Mr Hyoung gyu Kim (Institute for Basic Science) Prof. Hyunsoo Kim (Sejong University) Dr Hyunsu Lee (Institute for Basic Science) Dr Jaison Lee (CUP/IBS) Dr Jung sic Park (Institute for Basic Science) Dr Moo Hyun Lee (IBS) Dr Myoung seop Lee (VIGS corporation) Dr Nam young Kim (Institute for Basic Science) Mr Sang Chul Jang (Seoul National University) Dr Stephen Olsen (CUP) Dr Sung hyun Kim (Institute for Basic Science) Mr Woo tae Kim (Institute for Basic Science) Prof. Yeongduk Kim (Institute for Basic Science) Dr Yong hamb Kim (Institute for Basic Science) Dr Young soo Yoon (Institute for Basic Science)

Presentation materials