Oct 3 – 7, 2022
Science Culture Center, IBS
Asia/Seoul timezone

Charge state fluctuations of heavy ion beams inside ionization chambers

Oct 4, 2022, 10:40 PM
S236 (Science Culture Center, IBS)


Science Culture Center, IBS

55 EXPO-ro, Yuseong-gu, Daejeon
Poster Session Poster Session


Hiroyuki Takahashi (Tokyo City University)


With the development of unstable nuclei beam generation and separation capabilities, the field of unstable nuclei research has expanded to include the measurement of various nuclei. At RIKEN, new isotopes have been discovered one after another, and the research has been expanded to the neutron-rich side or the region with large atomic number Z, such as 180Er with the largest Z, Z = 68. Currently, there are high expectations for the search for new isotopes in the upper right corner of the nucleus chart. However, previous studies have shown that the Z resolution for identifying nuclear Z deteriorates in regions with large Z, which poses a major challenge.
Ionization chambers with good energy resolution for low mass are often used to measure the energy loss ΔE for particle identification in heavy ion beams. However, it has been found that the energy resolution of ion chambers deteriorates as Z increases. This phenomenon was explained by a Monte Carlo simulation of the charge state fluctuation caused by charged particles passing through the ionization chamber inside the detector and reproducing the experimental values. The experiments were performed at the National Institute of Radiological Sciences (NIRS) using a secondary beam of Z = 22 ~ 55 generated by injecting a primary beam of 136Xe into a production target, Be. In this presentation, we will give an overview of the measurements and the results.

Primary author

Hiroyuki Takahashi (Tokyo City University)


Mr Daiki Nishimura (Tokyo City Univesrsity ) Mr Mitunori Fukuda (Osaka University) Mr Shigekazu Fukuda (QST) Ms Miki Fukutome (Osaka Univesity) Mr Sakuya Harayama (Saitama University) Mr Takuji Izumikawa (IRP Niigata University) Ms Yoko Kimura (Osaka University) Mr Atushi Kitagawa (QST) Mr Mototugu Mihara (Osaka University) Mr Tetuaki Moriguchi (University of Tsukuba) Mr Norihide Noguchi (Niigata University) Mr Mizuki Ogose (Niigata University) Ms Misaki Otsu (Saitama University) Mr Takashi Otsubo (Niigata University) Ms Yurika Otani (Osaka University) Mr Shinji Sato (QST) Mr Sora Sugawara (Tokyo City University) Mr Takeshi Suzuki (Saitama University) Mr Kazuya Takatsu (Niigata University) Mr Gen Takayama (Osaka University) Mr Tanaka Masaomi (RIKEN) Mr Chiaki Une (Tokyo City University) Mr Takayuki Yamaguchi (Saitama University)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.