Oct 3 – 7, 2022
Science Culture Center, IBS
Asia/Seoul timezone

Development of gaseous Xe scintillator for particle identification of high intensity and heavy ion beams

Oct 4, 2022, 8:48 PM
S236 (Science Culture Center, IBS)


Science Culture Center, IBS

55 EXPO-ro, Yuseong-gu, Daejeon
Poster Session Poster Session


Yuto Hijikata (Kyoto University / RIKEN)


RIBF can provide very high-energy and high-intensity RI beams. However, the beam intensity is now limited due to the radiation damages and pile-up events of the particle identification (PID) detectors. Therefore, we are now developing a gaseous Xe scintillator, which is expected to have a better radiation hardness than the existing ones like plastic scintillators, ion chambers, and PPACs. It is also expected to have good energy resolution, timing, and position resolutions because Xe gas has good scintillation properties (small average energy per scintillation photon $\sim$ 20 eV and fast decay time constant $\sim$ 100 ns).
Recently, we have evaluated the PID performance ($\Delta{}E$, timing and position resolution) of the gaseous Xe scintillator by using primary beams of $^{238}$U and unstable nuclear beams at RIKEN RIBF. The results show that the gaseous Xe detector can be considered as a new beamline detector in all three aspects.
In this presentation, we report the details of the experiment and the results.

Primary author

Yuto Hijikata (Kyoto University / RIKEN)


Juzo Zenihiro (Kyoto University) Masanori Dozono (Kyoto University) Shiyo Enyo (Kyoto University) Naoki Fukuda (RIKEN) Tomoya Harada (Toho University) Yohei Matsuda (Konan Univ.) Shin'ichiro Michimasa (Center for Nuclear Study, The University of Tokyo) Daiki Nishimura (Tokyo City University) Shunji Nishimura (RIKEN) Shinsuke Ota (RCNP, Osaka University) Yohei SHIMIZU (RIKEN) Harutaka Sakaguchi (RCNP, Osaka University) Hiromi Sato (RIKEN) Sora Sugawara (Tokyo City University) Hiroshi Suzuki (RIKEN) Hiroyuki Takahashi (Tokyo City University) Hiroyuki Takeda (RIKEN) Junki Tanaka (Riken) Satoru Terashima (Beihang University ) Ryotaro Tsuji (Kyoto university) Tomohiro Uesaka (RIKEN) Koichi Yoshida (RIKEN)

Presentation materials