Oct 3 – 7, 2022
Science Culture Center, IBS
Asia/Seoul timezone

Construction of the Superallowed Transition Beta-Neutrino Decay Ion Coincidence Trap

Oct 3, 2022, 8:54 PM
S236 (Science Culture Center, IBS)


Science Culture Center, IBS

55 EXPO-ro, Yuseong-gu, Daejeon
Poster Session Poster Session


Maxime Brodeur (University of Notre Dame)


Nuclear beta decays provide a unique avenue for testing the electroweak part of the Standard Model through precision measurements. Physics beyond the Standard Model would manifest itself in these transitions through a variety of possible effects including a non-unitarity of the Cabibbo-Kobayashi-Maskawa quark mixing matrix, scalar or tensor currents, and interactions involving right-handed neutrinos. Probing these various effects in superallowed mixed beta decay transitions can be done through precision measurement of the beta-neutrino angular correlation parameter. As such, we are currently constructing at the Nuclear Science Laboratory of the University of Notre Dame the Superallowed Transition Beta-Neutrino Decay Ion Coincidence Trap (St. Benedict). St. Benedict will take a radioactive ion beam produced by TwinSol, thermalize it in a large volume gas cell, then transport it through two separate, differentially-pumped, volumes using a radio-frequency carpet and a radio-frequency quadrupole (RFQ) ion guide before injecting it into an RFQ trap to create cool ion bunches for injection into the measurement Paul trap. The status of the St. Benedict development will be presented. This work is supported by the US National Science Foundation under grant PHY-1725711.

Primary authors

Aaron Gallant (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory) Maxime Brodeur (University of Notre Dame) Adrian Valverde (Argonne National Laboratory) Biying Liu (University of Notre Dame) Daniel Bardayan (University of Notre Dame) Fabio Rivero (University of Notre Dame) Guy Savard (Argonne National Laboratory) James Kolata (University of Notre Dame) Patrick O'Malley (University of Notre Dame) Regan Zite (University of Notre Dame) Sam Porter (University of Notre Dame) Daniel Burdette (Argonne National Laboratory) Jason Clark (Argonne National Laboratory) Tan Ahn (University of Notre Dame)

Presentation materials