Oct 3 – 7, 2022
Science Culture Center, IBS
Asia/Seoul timezone

Design and Development of Control system for the RAON μSR facility in Korea using EPICS

Oct 4, 2022, 9:28 PM
S236 (Science Culture Center, IBS)


Science Culture Center, IBS

55 EXPO-ro, Yuseong-gu, Daejeon
Poster Session Poster Session


Mr Jae Young Jeong (Hanyang Univ. South Korea.)Mr Jae Chang Kim (Department of Nuclear Engineering, Hanyang University)


A control system using EPICS was designed and developed to control and monitor components of the μSR facility at the Rare Isotope Science Project in Korea. In order to ensure that the components work normally during the facility operation, the status of components has to be checked continuously, moreover, the components have to be able to be controlled remotely. Experimental Physics and Industrial Control System (EPICS) is a real-time control system for scientific instruments such as particle accelerators, telescopes, and other large scientific experiments. All information in the facility is controlled by EPICS. Most commercial vacuum pumps have each communication protocol for serial communication. Other components, such as flow meters and thermocouples, send the desired value in forms of the current. An Arduino Uno module was added to transmit the current as a digital signal. The signals are sent to EPICS installed in Raspberry Pi 4 by serial communication. Components that are difficult to communicate with EPICS through serial communication are connected to EPICS via programmable logic controllers (PLC). Internal relay systems of PLCs are coded to control and monitor each component through the remote connector. Process variables in EPICS are controlled from a graphical user interface designed by Control System Studio and recorded in the Archiver appliance installed on the workstation.

Primary author

Mr Jae Young Jeong (Hanyang Univ. South Korea.)


Mr Jae Chang Kim (Department of Nuclear Engineering, Hanyang University) Mr Taek Jin Jang (Department of Physics, Chungang University) Dr Lee Ju Hahn (Institute for Basic Science ) Dr Wonjun Lee (Institute for Basic Science ) Prof. Yong Kyun Kim (Department of Nuclear Engineering, Hanyang University)

Presentation materials